**Prof. Paul Chugh** has been selected to receive two prestigious national awards (The Rock Mechanics Award and the Howard N. Eavenson Award) from the SME (Society of Mining, Metallurgy and Exploration Inc.) during its next annual meeting in 2009.

A brief description of both awards follows:

## The Rock Mechanics Award:

This award shall be given for distinguished contributions to the advancement of the field of rock mechanics and is open to all regardless of age, nationality, SME membership, or professional field. The Award shall consist of a suitable plaque containing a citation of the service or achievement upon which the award is based.

This is the highest award one can receive in the field of rock mechanics.

The Howard N. Eavenson Award: The Howard N. Eavenson Award, first presented in 1969, is given for distinguished contributions to the advancement of coal mining. The award shall be given to a U.S. resident, preferably but not necessarily a member of the Institute, who shall within a two year period in advance of his selection for the award have contributed the most to the advancement of the coal industry whether by research, invention, publication or advances in mining and development methods (labor relations not included).

The award carries about \$ 3,000 cash award and a plaque.